Hello, Outreachy!

Hello, Outreachy!

Hi there! I'm Kafilat Adeleke, an outreachy intern at Open Stack. I'll be working on The Open Stack Manila Project.

Although I have a degree in Medical Physiology, I've always been a tech enthusiast. So, I decided to switch my career to tech, and what a journey it has been! One of my greatest achievements so far in tech is getting into outreachy and I am so excited! diya-pokharel-EOebHxC4DaA-unsplash (2).jpg

My Core Values

Knowledge

I love knowledge. when I find something interesting, I try to learn every information about it.

The most successful people in the world understand that we must continuously learn to be successful. For us, to live life to the fullest, we must continually look for ways to improve -A.J Agrawal

Patience

With patience, you can cook stones - An African Proverb

I believe true success can come in life only if one is patient. The great height at which we are aiming to reach is not just a sudden flight.

Optimism

I'm highly optimistic. I have a positive attitude to life and always hope for the best and work towards it.

What is Outreachy?

Outreachy is a paid remote internship that runs twice a year (May to August and December to March). Outreachy Internships promote diversity in tech and seek people from underrepresented groups in tech. Interns work on Open source projects with mentors from Open Source communities.

There are three stages of outreachy, the Initial Application Phase, Contribution Phase, and the Internship Phase. You can read more on the outreachy website.

Tips on getting selected for outreachy

  • Submit your initial application early, so that the outreachy organizers can review your essays and determine your eligibility.
  • While waiting for the contribution period, go through past projects and do some homework on the participating organizations and their projects. You can start contributing to them before the official contribution starts.
  • Once the contribution phase starts, pick 1-2 projects that interest you, preferably with a similar tech stack. Making many meaningful contributions to 1 or 2 projects is better than making few contributions to several projects.
  • Also, start communicating with your mentors early and don't be afraid to ask questions.
  • Submit your project proposals as early as possible, preferably 2-3 days before the deadline.
  • If you are not eventually selected, don't be discouraged. You can always apply again.
  • Finally, contributing to Open Source can be overwhelming, but be patient and have fun!